New York Philomusica
Merkin Concert Hall

2001-2002 New York Concerts

Participating 2002/03 Artists

Susan Rotholz, flute
Gerard Reuter, oboe
Joseph Rabbai, clarinet
Richard Goldsmith, clarinet/bass-clarinet
A. Robert Johnson, horn

Rieko Aizawa, piano
Jeb Patton, piano
Robert Levin, piano
Meg Bachman Vas, piano

Deborah Buck, violin
Patrick Wood, violin
Naoko Tanaka, violin
Calvin Wiersma, violin/viola
Kirsten Johnson, viola

Ah Ling Neu, viola

Gregory Hesselink, 'cello
Michael Kannen, 'cello

Gail Kruvand, contrabass
Eddie Locke, drums

2002-2003 Subscription Concerts - New York

Merkin Concert Hall, Abraham Goodman House
(129 West 67th Street, between Broadway & Amsterdam)

The 31st Season!

Our 31st Year offers both a retrospective and a look ahead. The artists assume prominent roles as we introduce composers new to our series and revisit impressive old friends.

Thursday, October 3, 2002, 8PM

Thursday, December 12, 2002, 8PM

Thursday, January 23, 2003, 8PM

Thursday, March 20, 2003, 8PM

Thursday, May 8, 2003, 8PM

Detailed programs at a glance

Thus we feature Robert Levin in our first program, as we induct him to the status of Artist Laureate. Meg Bachman Vas revisits the Piano Quintet—dedicated to New York Philomusica by our first Featured Composer, the late Iain Hamilton—marking the start of a retrospective over several seasons to honor Iain’s contribution to the founding of our ensemble. Jeb Patton replaces his late teacher, the great jazz pianist/composer Sir Roland Hanna, who was to have performed in the January concert, in the world premiere of Hanna’s arrangement of Duke Ellington’s Piano Concerto. Naoko Tanaka performs a Bach Sonata for unaccompanied violin. Joseph Rabbai, our Founding Clarinetist and a Principal Clarinetist of the Met Orchestra, is featured in beautiful music for his instrument. Rieko Aizawa returns after a stunning debut with us last season to perform Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes. Favorite composers of the past are joined by Jan Swafford and two fine composers you will hear for the first time in our series—Michael Berkeley and Gordon Getty.

Detailed Programs

Thursday, October 3, 2002, 8PM
7:30PM Meet-the-Artists Interview/Lecture with Robert Levin
   Post-concert Reception

Trio in G, Op 1, No 2, piano, violin & 'cello
Quintet in C, Op 29, 2 violins, 2 violas & 'cello
Concerto No 4 in G, Op 58, piano, 2 violins, 2 violas & 'cello

Thursday, December 12, 2002, 8PM
7:30PM Meet-the-Artists Interview/Lecture with Gordon Getty
    Post-concert Reception

IAIN HAMILTON: Piano Quintet (1993), piano, 2 violins, viola & 'cello
JAN SWAFFORD: Requiem in Winter (1991), violin, viola & 'cello  
 New York Premiere
GORDON GETTY: Three Diatonic Waltzes, 2 violins, viola & 'cello  
 New York Premiere
MAURICE RAVEL: Trio in A Minor (1914), piano, violin, & 'cello

Thursday, January 23, 2003, 8PM
A Tribute to Sir Roland Hanna
7:30PM Meet-the-Artists Interview/Lecture with Eddie Locke
   Post-concert Reception

JOSEPH HAYDN: Divertimento in E, Hob XV:34, piano, violin & 'cello
DUKE ELLINGTON: Piano Concerto (arr. Sir Roland Hanna), piano, clarinet, horn, violin, viola, 'cello, bass & drums  
 World Premiere
MICHAEL BERKELEY: Chamber Symphony, flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, piano, violin, viola & 'cello  
 U.S. Premiere
BRAHMS: Quintet in B Minor, Op 115, clarinet, 2 violins, viola & 'cello

Buy tickets

Thursday, March 20, 2003, 8PM
7:30PM Meet-the-Artists Interview/Lecture with Joseph Rabbai
   Post-concert Reception

SHOSTAKOVICH: 24 Preludes, Op 34, piano
J.S. BACH: Sonata in A Minor, BWV 1003, solo violin
SAINT-SAËNS: Sonata in E-flat, Op 167, clarinet & piano
HINDEMITH: Quartet, clarinet, violin, 'cello & piano (1938)

Thursday, May 8, 2003, 8PM
7:30PM Meet-the-Artists Interview/Lecture    Post-concert Reception

SHOSTAKOVICH: Trio No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 67 (1944), piano, violin & 'cello
BELA BARTOK: Rhapsody No. 1, Sz. 86 (1928), violin & piano
STRAVINSKY: Pieces (3) for Clarinet (1919)
IAIN HAMILTON: Hyperion (1977), clarinet, horn, piano, violin & 'cello

Home    Concerts     NY Philomusica Records     About New York Philomusica
Contact Us    Support Us     Quodlibet

Copyright 2002 New York Philomusica. Design: Ehrsam Productions ©2002