New York Philomusica

2007-2008 Subscription Concerts - New York City

The Broadway Presbyterian Church
Broadway at 114th Street

The 36th Year in NYC! Modern Haydn -- Then as Now

For the 2007-2008 season New York Philomusica explores the immense spectrum of musical innovation embodied by Joseph Haydn.

Thursday, October 4, 2007, 8PM

Thursday, December 6, 2007, 8PM

Thursday, February 21, 2008, 8PM

Thursday, May 1, 2008, 8PM

Detailed programs at a glance

One of the most prominent composers of the Classical period, Haydn has been called the �father� of many of the musical forms common today. Artistic Director A. Robert Johnson has put together a wide range of music similar to that which Haydn would have been commissioned to write in a typical season by his patron, Count Nicolas Esterhazy, to give modern audiences a taste of the many ways in which Haydn contributed to our understanding of music as we know it today.

In keeping with New York Philomusica�s tradition of presenting and contrasting masters from all ages, the music of Haydn will be juxtaposed with numerous others of note, including Beethoven, Mozart, Brahms and our current Featured Composer Michael Berkeley.

What more appropriate composer than Haydn to explore the subject of how we have come to appreciate music of the past while pondering the future? Of Haydn, Johnson says, �Tradition! Who ever heard of Wagenseil? Or Cannabich? Haydn did. In fact he borrowed some good ideas from each and made them his own, standing the tradition of his day on its head.� This is what New York Philomusica does for today�s listeners.

We've loved the music of Joseph Haydn since forever! Subscribe to the 2007-08 concerts, and you will love it forever!

Subscribe and save!

Four-concert subscriptions: $140 (Seniors: $125, Students: $25)
Single tickets: $40 (Seniors: $35, Students: $10)

Buy your subscriptions and single tickets online now! click here

Detailed Programs

I. Thursday, October 4, 2007, 8PM
7:30PM Meet-the-Artists Session
   Post-concert Reception

We begin when Joseph introduced us to his music for violin, viola and 'cello.

JOSEPH HAYDN Trio in G, Op. 53, No. 1 (1787)
A.P.F. BOELY (1785 - 1858) Trio No. 1 in D, Op. 5 (1808)
ZOLT�N KOD�LY (1882 - 1967) Intermezzo (1905)
MICHAEL BERKELEY (b. 1948; Featured Composer) Trio (1978)
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Trio No. 1 in G, Op. 9.1 (1797)

Read the program notes for this concert (Microsoft Word)

II. Thursday, December 6, 2007, 8PM
7:30PM Meet-the-Artists Session
    Post-concert Reception

We jump forward from a late Haydn Piano-Trio, all but forgotten today, to hear his influence on a few of the 20th Century's notables.

JOSEPH HAYDN Trio in B-flat, Hob.XV:20
ANTON WEBERN (1883 - 1945) Four Pieces for Violin and Piano (1914)
ALBAN BERG (1885 - 1935) Adagio from Kammerkonzert (1923 - 1925; 1935 - scored by the composer for clarinet, violin and piano)
PAUL HINDEMITH (1895 - 1963) Quartet (1938) for clarinet, violin, 'cello and piano (This is the first piece in the instrumentation made famous by Messiaen.)

III. Thursday, February 21, 2008, 8PM
7:30PM Meet-the-Artists Session
   Post-concert Reception

This is what genius does with one each: piano, violin, viola, 'cello and contrabass.

JOSEPH HAYDN Trio in E-flat, Hob.XV:30 (1795) for piano, violin and 'cello
MICHAEL BERKELEY Odd Man Out (1994) for solo viola
MICHAEL BERKELEY Funerals and Fandango (1984) for solo violin
JOSEPH HAYDN Fantasia, Hob.XVII:4 (1789) for solo piano
MICHAEL BERKELEY For the Savage Messiah (1985) for piano, violin, viola, 'cello and contrabass
JOHANNES BRAHMS (1833 - 1897) Quartet No. 3 in C minor, Op. 60 (1855 - 1875) for piano, violin, viola and 'cello

Buy tickets

IV. Thursday, May 1, 2008, 8PM
7:30PM Meet-the-Artists Session
   Post-concert Reception

The String Quartet - a perfect exposition of Haydn's inventive genius.

JOSEPH HAYDN Quartet in g minor, Op. 74, No. 3 (1793)
ANTONIN DVORAK (1841 - 1904) Selections from Cypresses, B.152 (1887)
MICHAEL BERKELEY Quartet No. 1 (1981)
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Quartet No. 5 in A, Op. 18, No. 5

Home    Concerts     NY Philomusica Records     About New York Philomusica
Contact Us    Support Us     Quodlibet

Copyright 2007 New York Philomusica. Design: Ehrsam Productions ©2002